top of page
Search
  • Mayerli Galeano

First impressions

My first days in Denmark were very exciting, it was my first time living abroad and everything was a novelty.

I arrived on a Thursday and my first day at my project was the next day. I was very nervous, something normal when you start a new project, but the facts that the Fridays are short days at the office and that my coworkers were very nice and welcoming eased my nervousness. Also, I discovered The Breakfast. Every Friday the people of the office organize a breakfast together, and this was my first incursion on the Danish gastronomy. Thanks to this, I found my favorite breakfast ever: bread with cheese and marmalade and bread with butter and chocolate.

My roommate and I spent the first few weeks exploring the city and its surroundings. The weather was nice, and we discovered many things together.

Close to our apartment we have a little forest and the beach. I was very excited about this because I am from Madrid, the center of Madrid, so I am not used to have the sea or a forest at short distance.

On the beach you can find the infinite bridge, which is a circle bridge on the sea and in the summer, autumn or spring you can seat on it and watch and almost feel the sea. This bridge is taken apart on winter because of the weather, wind and waves.

Close to the infinite bridge is the Deer Park, and it is amazing! The entrance is free, and you can bring food with you, carrots, apples, and feed the deer! There are many of them and they are so cute! And very smart! When they see you with food, they will approach you immediately.

The city center of Aarhus is not big but is beautiful and you can find many activities to do. There are many museums, one of the most famous is the Aros museum, whose exhibitions are mainly of contemporary art. I am not a big fan of this type of art, so I only went there once, but it was nice, mostly due a permanent exhibition since 2011, Your rainbow panorama, in the official website of the museum you can find all the details about it.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Meetings

As a part of the ESC program all the volunteers must attend two meetings, the On-arrival meeting and the midterm meeting. The On-arrival meeting is at the beginning of the project. In my case, the fir

Danish Classes

On the second week of October, I started my Danish language course and it was an interesting experience; the Danish language is one of the German languages like English, and because of that, Danish an

Arrival

My arrival to Copenhagen from Madrid was in the middle of August. I do not remember the temperature in Madrid but I do remember that it was hot, very hot, probably above 35 degrees Celsius, but I knew

bottom of page