top of page
Search
  • Mayerli Galeano

Arrival


My arrival to Copenhagen from Madrid was in the middle of August. I do not remember the temperature in Madrid but I do remember that it was hot, very hot, probably above 35 degrees Celsius, but I knew that in Denmark it would be different, less than 15 degrees Celsius, so I came prepared for the cold…. but not for the rain.


As I explained on my post about ESC program, I had a budget for my travel to Denmark and my flight to Copenhagen took good part of it, so to reach Aarhus I choose the cheapest option, Flixbus. To go from Copenhagen to Aarhus takes around 4 hours by bus. At the beginning I was lost, and I didn’t know where the bus stop was, so I was asking anyone I could find “where can I take the bus to Aarhus?”. At this point I would like to make a clarification, in Danish the “Aa” is not pronounced like a normal “a”, the pronunciation is more like the “o” sound. I got this information a few days later, thanks to one of my coworkers, and in that moment I understood the weird glances I received from the people when I asked them “where can I take the bus to Aaaaarhus?” with my strong Spanish accent. But well, once I found the bus stop and was waiting for the bus to arrive it started raining. At that moment I didn’t have any raincoat or umbrella, I just had my big cloth coat, which is good for the cold and wind but not for the rain. So, I had to endure the rain until the bus arrived. Let me give you an advice, if you want to come to Denmark or the north of Europe in general, you will need a good Raincoat, it will be your best friend.


After that, I spent more than 5 hours on the bus, it was stormy and I barely could see the Danish landscape through the window, so the travel was a little boring. When I finally arrived at Aarhus, the bus run out of gas 5 minutes from the bus station, something unusual according what one girl that was in the bus with me and lived in Aarhus told me. I was new in the city and I didn’t know where I was, so I called my tutor who was waiting for me with my future roommate in the bus station and she told me to wait for her where I was. Then, I had to get off the bus with my luggage, thank God I only had a backpack and a cabin bag, and wait in the rain until my tutor and future roommate could pick me up.


They gave me a warm welcome and they were very nice, I spent a really good time with them that evening.


And this was my first day in Denmark.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Meetings

As a part of the ESC program all the volunteers must attend two meetings, the On-arrival meeting and the midterm meeting. The On-arrival meeting is at the beginning of the project. In my case, the fir

Danish Classes

On the second week of October, I started my Danish language course and it was an interesting experience; the Danish language is one of the German languages like English, and because of that, Danish an

First impressions

My first days in Denmark were very exciting, it was my first time living abroad and everything was a novelty. I arrived on a Thursday and my first day at my project was the next day. I was very nervou

bottom of page