top of page
Search
  • Mayerli Galeano

Danish Classes

On the second week of October, I started my Danish language course and it was an interesting experience; the Danish language is one of the German languages like English, and because of that, Danish and English are similar but quite different at the same time. For example, the grammatical part is not that difficult if you have learned English previously. But the pronunciation…. that is the real challenge. In Danish, the way you write is completely different to the way you speak. Also, at least, for me, Danish has 3 more vowels sounds.

Clavis is a school of Danish present in the main cities across Denmark. My classroom was not small or large, we were 15 students approximately and we had a good environment. My classmates were from all around the world, Japan, India, France, Portugal, Hungary, USA…. And we helped each other with the lessons. My teachers were also very good, they were very patient and nice.

The Danish language course is made up of 5 modules, two months for each Modul. I completed Modul 1 of the course and I decide not to continue with it because, this year, you must pay 2000 DKK per Modul. And in this point, I would like to highlight the fact that this year is the only year in which the students of Danish must pay for the course, the previous year was free and from July on is also free.

Anyway, thanks to my teachers and my classmates I got enough level to be able to read and write. Thought the pronunciation…., well I can say that I can have a basic conversation.

Until this moment I practice my Danish reading books, and though and I love to read, I do not like all type of genres so is not that easy to find books I like. Also, it is difficult to find free or even paid literature in Danish on internet, but I manage to find it of course I have the library of Aarhus form where I can borrow books.

In general, this was an excellent experience in my life.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Meetings

As a part of the ESC program all the volunteers must attend two meetings, the On-arrival meeting and the midterm meeting. The On-arrival meeting is at the beginning of the project. In my case, the fir

First impressions

My first days in Denmark were very exciting, it was my first time living abroad and everything was a novelty. I arrived on a Thursday and my first day at my project was the next day. I was very nervou

Arrival

My arrival to Copenhagen from Madrid was in the middle of August. I do not remember the temperature in Madrid but I do remember that it was hot, very hot, probably above 35 degrees Celsius, but I knew

bottom of page