top of page
Search
  • Mayerli Galeano

European solidarity corps.

Updated: May 26, 2020

In this post I would like to introduce more in depth the program that made possible this adventure.


ESC or European Solidarity Corps is an initiative which creates opportunities for young people, between 18 and 30 years old, to volunteer or work in a wide range of projects across Europe for a short period of time, weeks or a few months, or longer periods of time of 1 year. There are different ways and platforms in which you can look for volunteer projects. One of the most important one is the Youth Portal itself, but also, you can search for projects on the websites of the different organizations that participate on this program across Europe.


As a practical information is good to know that to participate in this program you would need a Sending Organization(SO) from your home country, a Coordinating Organization(CO), the one who is going to make most of the paperwork and, probably, the one you have to send your application to participate in the project and a Host Organization(HO), the one where you are going to make your volunteer project.


In my case, I was looking for cheap ways to travel or work abroad and I considered many options until I found all2help, my Sending Organization. On their website I read about the European volunteering program and different projects in which I could apply. After reading all the all2help website, one of the projects caught my attention, it was a volunteering at Dansk ICYE, a Coordinating Organization whose goal is the exchange of volunteers between Denmark and the rest of Europe. I thought it was very interesting to be able to participate in a project where you could learn more about the volunteering experience in Europe, so, with the help of all2help, I sent my application.


An important aspect is the economy. As a volunteer, the young person who is selected to work in a project should not spend money while they are on it, so all the expenses, accommodation, food…. etc is covered by the program. In my case, I live in a shared flat with another volunteer from France. And each month I receive pocket and money for food. Also, the travel from your home country to the host country is covered within a budget. This budget depends how far are both countries.


Once the volunteer starts the project there is one important figure, the tutor. This person is part of the institution in which the volunteer is developing the project and is the one who the volunteer can count on if they have any problem or doubt related to their project.


I hope I was able to clearly explain the program in this post.








17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Meetings

As a part of the ESC program all the volunteers must attend two meetings, the On-arrival meeting and the midterm meeting. The On-arrival meeting is at the beginning of the project. In my case, the fir

Danish Classes

On the second week of October, I started my Danish language course and it was an interesting experience; the Danish language is one of the German languages like English, and because of that, Danish an

First impressions

My first days in Denmark were very exciting, it was my first time living abroad and everything was a novelty. I arrived on a Thursday and my first day at my project was the next day. I was very nervou

bottom of page